Jason Jackson stunned previously unbeaten Yaroslav Amosov with a brutal KO to win the title

0 4

Jason Jackson shocked the MMA world at Bellator 301 and became a champion.

Considered by many to be a true underdog, Jackson (17-4 MMA, 8-1 BMMA) knocked out previously unbeaten Yaroslav Amosov (27-1 MMA, 8-1 BMMA) to finish a stunning main performance in Friday’s main event at Wintrust. Arena in Chicago. The stoppage came via punches at 2:08 of Round 3.

From the opening bell, Jackson stuffed Amosov’s takedown attempts and a set piece. Jackson used leg kicks to keep Amosov away. His uppercuts and knees threatened Amosov every time he shot for a takedown.

As the fight progressed, Amosov went down. Jackson stayed calm and waited for his moment, which he found in a combination that ended in a hard right hand. Down went Amosov, who tried to live. Amosov absorbed blows when he got to his feet. Barrier was again countered with an uppercut – but this one knocked him out.

Jackson, who had not competed since July 2022, extended his winning streak to seven. Other notable winners include Douglas Lima, Paul Daley, Benson Henderson, and Neiman Gracie as well.

Amosov loses for the first time as a professional. He won the title against Douglas Lima in June 2021 and successfully defended it against Logan Storley in February after separating from MMA to serve in the Ukrainian military.

Bellator 301’s latest results include:

  • Jason Jackson def. Yaroslav Amosov via TKO (punches) – Round 3, 2:08

  • Patchy Mix def. Sergio Pettis via submission (reverse choke) – Round 2, 1:51; to unify the undisputed bantamweight title

  • Raufeon Stots def. Danny Sabatello via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

  • AJ McKee def. Sidney Outlaw via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

  • Alasdair Shabliy def. Patricky Freire via unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45) – advances to lightweight grand prix final

  • Archie Colgan def. Pieter Buist via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

  • Denise Kielholtz def. Sumiko Inaba via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

  • Timur Khizriev of charge. Justin Gonzales via unanimous decision 30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

  • Keri Melendez def. Sabriye Sengul via submission (guillotine choke) – Round 2, 2:06

  • Matheus Mattos def. Richard Palencia via submission (reverse choke) – Round 2, 3:20

  • Ramazan Kuramagomedov def. Randall Wallace via submission (reverse choke) – Round 2, 3:49

  • Islam Mamedov of charge. Killys Mota via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

  • Cody Law def. Jefferson Pontes via Unanimous Decision (30-27,30-27, 30-27)

  • Tim Wilde def. Mike Hamel via TKO (punches) – Round 3, 2:47

  • Yves Landau def. Isao Kobayashi via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

For more on the card, visit MMA Junkie’s event hub for Bellator 301.

Story first appeared on MMA Junkie

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.