Padraig Harrington, Sandra Palmer, Tom Weiskopf, remaining LPGA founders inducted into World Golf Hall of Fame class of 2024

0 14

Padraig Harrington, Tom Weiskopf, Sandra Palmer, Johnny Farrell and Beverly Hanson will join the other seven of the 13 LPGA inductees in the World Golf Hall of Fame Class of 2024, it was announced Wednesday.

Harrington has 21 victories worldwide, including three majors. He was part of six Ryder Cup teams and captained the 2020 European team.

“This is very exciting, really a great honor,” Harrington said. “It’s kind of humbling. At this point in my life, it gives me validation for what I’ve done in golf. Giving back a flood of memories. This is a deep pleasure, and I am very proud to be included with the players in front of me. Seeing your name next to the names I looked up to as a boy and junior golf, it’s very nice. Everyone on the ballot deserves to be there. It’s unfortunate that not everyone can be there, but it’s good to be on to include you in the Class of 2024.”

Six LPGA founders – Patty Berg, Marlene Bauer Hagge, Louise Suggs, Babe Zaharias, Marilynn Smith and Betty Jameson – were already in the Hall. They will soon be joined by Alice Bauer, Bettye Danoff, Helen Dettweiler, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Sally Sessions and Shirley Spork.

Hagge is the only surviving LPGA founder.

The induction event will be held on June 10, 2024, at Pinehurst Resort & Country Club in Pinehurst, North Carolina, and will coincide with the 124th US Open.

The story first appeared on GolfWeek

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.